🔎

Historical

secret agent grandma

Description


"Reader beware—you choose the scare! GIVE YOURSELF GOOSEBUMPS! Your parents are going away so your super-cool grandma is coming to stay with you. But when you go to meet granny at the train station you start seeing double—double grannies! There's one granny on the station platform. And another one writing in lipstick on the window of the train. Which one is your real grandma? If you think she's on the platform you find yourself face to face with a hideous monster! If you decide to jump on the train, you are surrounded by a group of angry aliens out to take over the world! The choice is yours in this scary GOOSEBUMPS adventure that's packed with over 20 super-spooky endings!"

Author:

R L Stine

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

572879

paid servant

Description


E. R. Braithwaite, the acclaimed author ofTo Sir, With Love, poignantly recounts his time as a social worker dedicated to London's abandoned minority children
Despite his Cambridge education and a sterling record with the British Royal Air Force during World War II, E. R. Braithwaite, a black man, was unable to find employment as an engineer in post-war London. Instead he accepted a position as a teacher in a tough East End school and wrote of his experiences in his classic bestsellerTo Sir, With Love. Nine years later, Braithwaite once again found himself assuming an unfamiliar professional role as a social worker charged with finding homes for London's orphaned, abused, or abandoned "coloured" children. While he lacked formal training, Braithwaite possessed qualities essential for the job: compassion, determination, and a deep, abiding understanding and love for the helpless, lost, and disregarded.


InPaid Servant, E. R. Braithwaite...

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

252376

black snake

Description


Ned Kelly was a thief, a bank robber and a murderer. He was in trouble with the law from the age of 12. Yet, when Ned was sentenced to death, thousands of people rallied to save his life. He stood up to the authorities and fought for what he believed in. He defended the rights of people who had no power. Was he a villain? Or a hero?

Black Snakeis a non-fiction book for young adult readers by award-winning Australian author Carole Wilkinson. Part of the history series The Drum, it was an Honour Book at the 2003 Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Awards. Carole is most well-known for the internationally bestselling series Dragonkeeper. Her other novels includeStagefright,Sugar Sugarand the junior fiction Ramose series. Carole can be found online at:carolewilkinson.com.au

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

942924

dark energy

Description


We are not alone. They are here. And there's no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout.

Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing—or no one—has come out.

If it were up to Alice, she'd be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she's been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn't sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed.

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

937342

a few green leaves

Description


In A FEW GREEN LEAVES the author combines the rural settings of her earliest novels with many of the themes- and even some of the characters- of her later ones. Switching points of view among many characters, she builds with accumulating effect the picture of life in a town forgotten by time yet affected dramatically by it. Historical time- represented by Druid ruins, the local eighteenth-century country manor, and the last aristocrats who occupied it in the 1920s- is juxtaposed against the banalities of life in today's world.

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

225459

passing on

Description


Booker-Prize winning author Penelope Lively is that rare writer who goes from strength to strength in book after perfectly assured book. In Passing On, she applies her distinctive insight and consummate artistry to the subtle story of a domineering and manipulative mother's legacy to her children. With their mother's death, Helen and Edward, both middle-aged and both unmarried, are left to face the ramifications of their mother's hold on their lives for all of these years. Helen and Edward slowly learn to accept what has been lost in their own lives and embrace what can yet be retrieved. "The richest and most rewarding of her novels." - The Washington Post Book World

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

223914

don’t deny me: part three

Description


Author:

Megan Hart

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

637801

nothing in common

Description


It's all fun and games...until someone catches your eye. Burned in the past by a handsome man who'd made her feel ugly, Lila Lazin's not interested in Tom Caine. Tom looks like he stepped right off the cover of a fashion magazine -- and he's smart and funny, too. He's also interested in Lila, no matter how much she tries to tell him they have nothing in common.

Author:

Megan Hart

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

668732

never look back

Description


Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

347195

until i met you

Description


Warning: Contains scenes of an adult nature, and a hero so mouth-watering, he will put you off chocolate

What happens when the worlds of two tortured souls collide?

Angelina Bradshaw has always believed that she does not need a man in her life. That's what she has been telling herself her entire adult life. She feels worlds apart from her family’s dreams for her to meet a man, settle down, and have babies. She certainly can’t be doing that because love just gets in the way. She has a 'go to' guy and that's enough for her.

Living in rural Cornwall, she is bored and in desperate need of adventure, so when a family friend offers her a job in London, there's no hesitation. She expected adventure, she expected a new start, but what she didn't expect was to meet a man who would turn her life upside-down. Seth Jacobs is hot, sexy, and can't understand why Angelina doesn't want him. No one has ever said no to Seth Jacobs—in fact—they all fall at his feet.

Seth pursues her relentlessly and Angelina fights him at every corner. He is the only man who has ever affected her, and the need to run from him is immense. However, Seth is not one to give up so easily. He soon finds himself on a mission, determined to win her heart.

Unfortunately for Angelina, all is not well when her past and present collide after receiving some unwelcoming and frightening news from home. She feels desperate and alone, but most of all, she feels she has to push Seth away before it’s too late.

To make matters worse, a catastrophic secret from the past is revealed, threatening to destroy the one thing, Angelina finally holds dear to her heart.

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

477045

cry revenge (holloway house originals)

Description


Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

891239

dead to me

Description


A compelling new story from international number one bestselling author Lesley Pearse

Spring 1935. Two girls meet by chance on Hampstead Heath. To an outsider, they could not appear more different. Verity is well-mannered and smartly dressed, living with her parents in a beautiful house close to the heath. Ruby is dishevelled and grubby, used to a life of squalor where she is forced to steal to survive. Yet there's an instant affinity between them, and when their fortunes are shockingly reversed, it is the strength of their friendship that keeps them resilient to the challenges and hardships they face.

As Britain prepares for war, Ruby finds herself in Devon with the world at her feet and enjoying her first taste of romance. Meanwhile, hundreds of miles away, Verity is forced to leave behind everything she has ever known and a shadow from the past threatens her chances of a new beginning. But through it all, the girls are always there for each other. Until...

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

769724

malcolm x

Description


Years in the making—the definitive biography of the legendary black activist.

Of the great figure in twentieth-century American history perhaps none is more complex and controversial than Malcolm X. Constantly rewriting his own story, he became a criminal, a minister, a leader, and an icon, all before being felled by assassins' bullets at age thirty-nine. Through his tireless work and countless speeches he empowered hundreds of thousands of black Americans to create better lives and stronger communities while establishing the template for the self-actualized, independent African American man. In death he became a broad symbol of both resistance and reconciliation for millions around the world.

Manning Marable's new biography of Malcolm is a stunning achievement. Filled with new information and shocking revelations that go beyond theAutobiography, Malcolm Xunfolds a sweeping story of race and class in America, from the rise of Marcus Garvey and the Ku Klux...

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

915335

splinter the silence (tony hill)

Description


Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

968432

fauxmance

Description


Author:

L H Cosway

Status:

Completed

Series:

Total Views:

538156